the boy who loved me

For me you would always be the boy who was sitting by the door at my uncle’ marriage, giving me mean looks. For solid two hours you glared at me and all I could do was not to squeak like a mouse.

I was not too old or too young I was just 11 and you were my cousin’ classmate, somewhere around 16 years old. After the ceremony, when Cousin Ron called me, I was so confused, I walked up to you guys, now sitting at a corner table apprehensively. Ron said, “Hey cousin how are you, oh by the way this is my friend A. And A I must warn you this girl here can whine you to death the only way to stop her is to call her Smoochie.” I was so mortified to be introduced in such a way that I tried to kill Ron by my deadly glower, but I guess that day I was running low on fumes 😛 . “Smoochie” you said with a smirk. From that day you always called me that. For me you would always be the boy who called me Smoochie always.

For me you would always be the guy who was holding me tight and together, when I was crying after my dad’ death. You said nothing; we were just standing there slumped against the window of your bedroom. For me you would always be the guy who held me together while I shattered.

For me you would always be the guy who told me how peculiar my eyes are and how it reminds you of coffee. That day I asked you why you were glaring at me during the marriage and you said “I don’t know”. For me you would always be the boy who was oblivious.

For me you would always be the boy who came to my home to inform me how your girlfriend was cheating on you. You were awful and shivering while I held you in my arms. We stayed there on my bed while I swayed you gently and you fall asleep right there, with me. For me you would always be the boy who seeks me.

For me you would always remain the boy who flew across the sea and come back to me because I was heartbroken after by boyfriend ditched me. That night you came inside carrying two pizzas and we ate and laughed and talked till morning. For me you would always remain the boy who was holding me hand while someone else can’t.

Finally, for me you would always remain the boy who died young and way before his time, so that he could save me a place up there; right beside him. For me you would always remain the boy who is watching me from the sky above.

For me you would always remain the boy who loved me and love you back without the boundaries of conventional romance.

Leave a Reply

